Printer Friendly VersionMAYOR & COMMISSIONERS

The City of Miami Beach is governed by a City Commission/City Manager type government. The City Commission consists of six elected Commissioners and an elected Mayor. Commissioners are elected for a term of four years with a term limit of two terms. Terms are staggered so that half the members of the Commission are elected every two years. The Mayor is elected every two years. The Commission appoints the City Manager, who oversees the City Administration and the City Attorney who oversees the Office of the City Attorney.