Printer Friendly Version


The Patrol Division is the largest and most visible component of the Police Department.  The division consists of three Districts that provide the City with uniform police services on a 24-hour a day basis. Whether working in marked police cars, on motorcycles, bicycles, walking a beat or even on in-line skates, the men and women of the Patrol Division are at the forefront of the Department's community service efforts.  

Patrol Major

Patrol Division Captains and area map

Community Policing / District Plan
The District Plan was initially implemented in March 1997 to provide police services in a manner consistent with our community policing philosophy. Implementing the District Plan involved a total reconfiguring of the Patrol Division from "shifts" into "districts". A Captain is assigned to each of three districts and they are responsible for their area 24 hours a day, seven days a week. Officers are assigned to a particular "squad" on each shift. Each squad is assigned to a district resulting in continuity and a sense of ownership of their assigned district.

This organizational strategy is based on the premise that the community and the police must work together to identify, prioritize and solve problems such as crime, fear of crime, social and physical disorder and overall quality of life issues.

Red Light Cameras Information & FAQ's